Historic Living Quarters: Courtyard San Diego Downtown Hotel Review

To my dearest:

Today, I’m continuing on with my West Coast travel log! I’m reviewing my favorite hotel of this whole trip! It is the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, nestled in the heart of Gaslamp Quarter. When you think about visiting historic sites in San Diego, surely you’ll think of Balboa Park or the likes. However, this hotel is actually a historic site itself in the Gaslamp District!

courtyard san diego downtown water view room

To begin, here’s a little glimpse of my beautiful room! The view is absolutely stunning isn’t it?! Do I have your attention yet?

courtyard san diego downtown outdoor

This hotel’s exterior, may not look like much at first glance. My friend met up with me here, and thought nothing of it until he entered. The outside of this hotel may be deceiving because it retained the look of it’s former financial institution – the San Diego Trust & Savings Bank. It was built in 1928 and stands at 240 feet above street level. The building was built by San Diegan architect, William Templeton Johnson, who also built the County Administration Building, La Jolla Library, Fine Arts Gallery and the Museum of Natural History in Balboa Park.

The interior is truly a hidden gem. In 2013, the hotel had a six million dollars renovation for rooms, space, and facility. The thirty five columns around the lobby are made from marble from three different continents. During the renovation from bank to hotel, the marble was numbered, removed, cleaned, stored, put back into place accordingly. The hotel is truly a remarkable piece of artwork as a whole.

courtyard san diego downtown lobby

Upon arrival, the waiting area is already something to write home about. It truly is the perfect blend of Italian Romanesque Revival Architecture with modern decor. Everything from the minor details of sofas, chairs, curtains to the classic chandeliers are just elements that build into this perfection.

courtyard san diego downtown lobby

The beautiful warm toned marble of the lobby, is just as inviting.

courtyard san diego downtown dining

And when you’re hungry, their classy in house restaurant may be just the thing you need. That. Or just call for room service. Either way works, your call.

courtyard san diego downtown billiards

Their billiards area is another place where you could just relax and chill. I love how classic everything in this hotel is. It almost feels like I took a time machine and traveled a little back in time.

courtyard san diego downtown water view rooms

For accommodations, I opt. for the King Water View Room. There’s no real water view, because everything surrounding the Gaslamp area has since been reconstructed. However, the city view is just as captivating. I loved the beautiful arches in this room. The architecture was what moved my heart to pay for a room in this category. The beautiful eagle sculptures sitting outside majestically adds to the Italian Romanesque vibes. Just remember, not all rooms in this category will feature this beautiful arch. They only have either four or five of these rooms in this category and they’re on the top floor. So make sure, if that’s what you want, to make special request of it. I checked into another room in the same category and had to later request for a change of room in order to get this view. And yes, I was lucky enough to have gotten the very last room available!

courtyard san diego downtown bar lounge

Before you leave this beautiful hotel, make sure you walk around and take advantage of the beautiful interior design. Sit at the lobby bar and just take a moment to enjoy. I know, I did and I can’t help but leave a piece of my heart at this hotel.

Summary

Location: Convenient. Situated in the heart of Gaslamp District. Close to most tourist areas and restaurants. Minutes from Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo and the likes.

Comfort: Clean and comfortable beds. Probably, the best bed I’ve slept in, out of the four hotels I’ve visited in the West Coast.

Staff friendliness: Very accommodating and helpful. When I wanted the room with the arches, they tried their best to find me an available room and they were able to do so!

Price: Fair and comparable to surrounding hotels. Price depends on days of visit and on season/off season.

Parking: Parking here is expensive at $39 per night. There is overnight parking about a block away for $10 per night. Ask a staff and they will kindly tell you where alternative parking can be found.

 

FOR MORE INFO & TO BOOK HOTEL. CLICK HERE!

 

_________________________________________________________

 

That’s all for now folks, I’m almost done wrapping up the West Coast trip, so just bear with me! More fashion and beauty posts will be following shortly! And not to mention – my one year relaunch anniversary is coming up! So excited! I can’t wait to share with you all!

Let me know if you have stayed at other hotels in San Diego and can share with me some good spots! Maybe I can visit it next! My goal is to find the most beautiful and insta-worthy hotels to share with you all! Can’t wait to hear from you all!

Instagram | FB | Twitter | Pinterest | G+

 

 




Sincerely Ophelia

Sincerely Ophelia

Hi! It’s Ophelia! I’m just a fun-size petite Asian girl living life in NYC, with a big heart for the love of life. I'm an overshareer of all sorts and enjoy inspiring others. Through this blog, I hope to share my styling ideas, shopping finds, latest trends, and solutions to everything related to fashion and beauty.

For reference, I am 5 feet 2 inches. I typically wear XS/S or 0-4 for apparel and 6.5-7.5 for shoes.
Sincerely Ophelia

Latest posts by Sincerely Ophelia (see all)

Share
Follow:

This post is non-sponsored and contains no affiliate links.

Example photo rights belong to Courtyard Marriott San Diego Downtown Press/Media.

Photos of Ophelia are property of Sincerely Ophelia.

40 Comments

  1. Portia
    March 28, 2018 / 3:37 PM

    This hotel is beautiful, it looks like a palace I wish I lived in. Will have to check it out!

  2. March 28, 2018 / 4:57 PM

    I’ve never been to San Diego but my husband raves about it so I hope to go some day

  3. March 28, 2018 / 5:24 PM

    My husband and I love to travel and we have never been to San Diego. I will keep this in mind beautiful!

  4. March 29, 2018 / 12:13 PM

    This place looks beautiful! I love anywhere that has some kind of historical background, especially a hotel. Historic hotels are so cool because you just think about how many people have been there and what the hotel has been through. It’s really cool.

  5. March 29, 2018 / 1:02 PM

    This looks like the kind of place I’d never want to leave. The room looks so cozy and every where in the hotel does really. I’ve yet to visit SD but if that changes, I now know where I want to stay.

  6. Amber
    March 29, 2018 / 4:00 PM

    I am so impressed by this hotel. It looks incredible! I would so stay here if I’m ever in San Diego.

  7. March 29, 2018 / 4:49 PM

    Oh wow now this sounds like an amazing place to go and stay. I absolutely adore hotels with a difference, somewhere with a history behind it.

  8. March 29, 2018 / 7:33 PM

    Oh my, you are so right, the inside does not match the outside! What a lovely room! I love the colors and the decor. The bar also looks like a fun place to hang!!

  9. Andrea
    March 29, 2018 / 8:51 PM

    What a gorgeous hotel. I love how amazing it looks. The room looks cozy and perfect for a weekend gateway.

  10. March 29, 2018 / 8:57 PM

    Beautiful hotel and pictures! I love the location in the heart of San Diego.

  11. Deola
    March 29, 2018 / 11:30 PM

    Beautiful pictures and description. I will have this mind for a travel destination. Thanks for sharing.

  12. March 30, 2018 / 2:31 AM

    Downtown San Diego is always a must when visiting SD. Such a cool place! Love your pictures btw 🙂
    xo, Sondra
    Cuisineandtravel.com

  13. March 30, 2018 / 4:26 AM

    Wow that hotel looks like royalty indeed. San Diego a place to check out next time we are in America.

  14. March 30, 2018 / 4:50 AM

    Okay so I am once again reminded that I have points expiring from my Marriott Rewards. I so love the view from your hotel. The Marriott I frequent here has the view of the golf course. I wish we have one here downtown.

  15. March 30, 2018 / 8:54 AM

    I love how inviting the hotel looks and the colors they used to decorate the place. It sounds like an interesting place to stay.

  16. TColeman
    March 30, 2018 / 9:27 AM

    This looks like such a spectacular place to stay. I am loving all the decor.

  17. March 30, 2018 / 12:26 PM

    Loving the aethetic of the hotel and that view is just stunning. Waking up to that view must be something else!

  18. March 30, 2018 / 1:18 PM

    Looks like a beautiful place to stay If I’m ever in the San Diego. I’ll keep it in mind

  19. March 30, 2018 / 2:38 PM

    This hotel is gorgeous! I love the Romanesque style. Thanks for your tour!

  20. Sheree
    March 30, 2018 / 3:39 PM

    Downtown San Diego is always a fun place to visit, this hotel looks so pretty, I love the decor. I will be adding this to my list of places to stay next time I visit!

    ~xo Sheree
    poshclassymom.com

  21. March 30, 2018 / 5:36 PM

    My husband and I have been talking about traveling to California. We were not sure where we were going to stay but this place looks beautiful! Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  22. sproctor1999
    March 30, 2018 / 6:19 PM

    Great review! The pictures are fantastic, and this is very thorough. I’m wanting to visit that hotel now. I’ll have to stash away some travel money, haha.

  23. March 30, 2018 / 6:52 PM

    Awwww…so beautiful! The interior is the lap of luxury! Love all the details from the marble to the pool room to the awe-inspiring tall ceilings in the great room. Thanks for the review! Will definitely keep this hotel in mind next time I’m in San Diego!

  24. March 30, 2018 / 7:49 PM

    Omg, this looks so devine. I love that crisp clean room and the view! Gorgeous

  25. March 31, 2018 / 1:56 AM

    San Diego may be the best place in the state to vacation. The weather’s always perfect and there’s so much to see and do. Knowing that there are also fabulous accommodations when visiting really seals the deal.

  26. March 31, 2018 / 10:42 AM

    That is an amazing hotel, its great to stay somewhere relaxing and luxurious on vacation. I would love to see San Diego some day.

  27. Joscelyn
    April 1, 2018 / 12:54 AM

    Wow, what a beautiful hotel! I’ve stayed in Courtyard hotels before, but this one is the most luxurious one I’ve ever seen! Will definitely look for that one on our next trip to San Diego!

  28. April 1, 2018 / 4:54 AM

    The hotel looks stunning! The decor and architecture are otherworldly! I’d love to come visit, I’ve actually never been to San Diego. Thanks for sharing.

  29. April 1, 2018 / 10:31 AM

    What a gorgeous hotel! I love how they were able to merge contemporary designs with rustic accents, really feels homey and calming, yet spacious and modern.

    Jessica | notjessfashion.com

  30. Aarika
    April 1, 2018 / 7:19 PM

    This hotel is beautiful! I visit San Diego a lot and will definitely look for this hotel. Awesome!

  31. April 2, 2018 / 8:53 PM

    Hmm…we’re thinking of visiting San Diego before we move out of the country and I think, this hotel must be a great place to stay in.

  32. April 3, 2018 / 11:32 AM

    This hotel look so beautiful. Love the way you explained every detail right from the entrance up to parking; without keeping anything uncovered.

  33. April 3, 2018 / 9:03 PM

    Looks like a great boutique hotel experience. I’ll keep it in mind, next time I’m in SD!

  34. April 3, 2018 / 10:57 PM

    So much luxury. I wouldn’t want to move out from there. 🙂

  35. April 3, 2018 / 11:41 PM

    Great hotel. The architecture of the hotel looks stunning and beautiful beyond words! I’m glad that it was affordable and that there is a cheaper parking alternative near the hotel.

  36. April 4, 2018 / 8:57 AM

    This hotel is so adorable! I’m glad to hear that the prices are fair. Your photos are great and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! 🙂

  37. April 4, 2018 / 10:20 AM

    This looks so beautiful! A great place to stay in San Diego!

  38. April 5, 2018 / 7:02 AM

    What an amazing looking hotel! I would absolutely love to visit here x

Leave a Reply